About Us


Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Recipients Announced


(Wausau, WI) The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee* listed below, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 20th annual Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarships, a program administered by the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin.

The 2015 student athletes nominated by their school’s respective coaching staffs include:

§  Jake Gajewski – Newman Catholic High School

§  Brady Lenz – Wausau West High School

§  Landon Krueger – Wausau East High School

§  Stephen Paoli – D.C. Everest Senior High School

          From these nominees, a Selection Committee, composed of members of the press, area school athletic directors, and a representative of the Community Foundation, named Stephen Paoli, of D.C. Everest Senior High School as the Win Brockmeyer Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Greater Wausau Area for 2015. 

Each nominee will be honored with a $500 scholarship. The student selected as the Outstanding Player of the Year (Cole) will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

To be nominated, each student athlete must meet the following selection criteria, as established by the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee* in 1996:

§  Graduating senior from D.C. Everest, Newman Catholic, Wausau East, or Wausau West High Schools (or any other greater Wausau area high school that develops a football program in the future)

§  Who is an outstanding football player;

§  Achieving recognition by his peers and coaches;

§  Who is a positive role model;

§  And displays the characteristics of:

Ø  Aggressiveness

Ø  Courage

Ø  Physical development

Ø  Sportsmanship

The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed within the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin by members of the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee with donations received from over 135 donors in Brockmeyer’s memory.

Brockmeyer was a legendary high school football coach who excelled in leadership and the development of human potential. His winning football record from 1937 – 1971 covered 34 years at Wausau High School, which served students in the area currently served by D.C. Everest, Wausau East and West, and Newman Catholic High Schools.  The area-wide scholarship recognition program concept provides area-wide participation and recognition, and unites the region in recognition of their outstanding football players.  It also provides an opportunity to tell the Brockmeyer story and focus on his football legacy, uniting the communities in the region through the cooperative selection process.

In the Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Fund’s history, 64 young men have received scholarship awards totaling $54,500.


Previous Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Year award recipients include:

2015         Stephen Paoli, D.C. Everest Senior High School

2014         Jake Whalen, Wausau West High School

2013         Cole Radloff, Wausau West High School

2012         Logan Taylor, Wausau East High School

2011         Brandon Luedtke, Wausau East High School

2010         Matiah Fischer, Wausau West High School

2009         Tyler Day, Wausau West High School

2008         Anthony Fischer, Newman Catholic High School

2007         Tyler Utecht, Wausau West High School

2006         Joe Gallion, Wausau East High School

2005         Ben Fischer, Wausau East High School

2004         Jordan Hein, Wausau West High School

2003         Andy Crooks, Wausau East High School

2002         Bradley Block, Wausau East High School

2001         Mark Zalewski, Wausau East High School

2000         Jonathon Wanta, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1999         Bounthavy Khamratthanome, Wausau West High School

1998         Derek Abney, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1997         Heath Novitzke, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1996         Timothy Freiberg, Wausau West High School

# # #



*Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee:

Aaron Baumgardt, Walter Bissell, Cal Chamberlain, David Graebel, and Barbara Hunger (Robert Hartwig, Ernie Hoenisch, John Hollingsworth, and Harlan Hunger in memoriam)

Download File